ltcomdata wrote:I am not understanding the "loophole" that this poll wants to change.
If you want to avoid taking your turn in order to not have to play your spoils, then you can only do that twice in a row before you are kicked out for missing too many turns. Therefore, you will have to take your turn at some point and cash in those spoils or lose the game. Skipping a turn at some point during the game seems to me to be fair strategy, even in 24-hour games with nukes; it is a trade-off: yes, you might avoid nuking yourself right now, but you are also giving your opponent an extra turn.
So, I guess I don't see what the problem is, or how this "loophole" turns into cheating...
Can someone explain it to me?
This isn't about skipping a turn. If you want to skip your turn, go ahead, I have no problem with you.
This is about people who take their turn, but do not end it, so that they don't get a card. Normal rules of Risk, from which CC is copied, state that if you successfully attack someone during your turn, you will get a card. But sometimes, people who don't want a card will successfully attack, but then let their time run out so that they don't get one. This is usually in nuclear or zombie, but once in a whlle in escalating also.
Let's say you're playing a nuclear game. You have four cards, and you own three of the territories that you have four cards. If you get a fifth card, you know you will be forced to nuke at least one and possibly two or three of your own territories. Most of us, playing within the spirit of the game, accept that as the risk you take with nuclear, take their fifth card and next turn nuke themselves, for better or for worse. There are some people, however, who will not take that fifth card. They use the timing out cheat. At the end of their turn, instead of pressing "End" (or reinforcing) they simple let the clock run out, so that their turn ends after an hour and they don't get the card. Thus, they pervert the spirit of the game, and do not accept the risk inherent in playing nukes.
The suggestion is that at the end of your turn, if you have earned a card (by making an attack) you should get one, whether you press "End" or not.
Does that explain it sufficiently?